Arti’s story: Fighting every step of the way

I was kindly invited to feature as a guest blogger on the NDCS campaigns blog. Please read and share!

National Deaf Children's Society Campaigns blog

Arti Patel Arti Patel, Membership Assistant

In 1994, my parents made the biggest decision of my life. They decided I would have a bone anchored hearing aid (Baha). Today, I sit here with the biggest smile on my face and say it was the best decision they ever made for me.

I was born with Treacher Collins Syndrome and a moderate hearing loss. At 2 years old, after much pushing from my parents, I was diagnosed with a hearing loss and fitted with the behind-the-ear hearing aids. Although these worked well, they weren’t the best for me.  When I was fitted my Baha, my parents noticed a huge difference and they were very happy with the results.

Arti blog Arti, aged two

However, it wasn’t all plain sailing. First they had to fight for me to get the Baha. Then after I started school, they had to push for my educational support. It…

View original post 194 more words

Leave a Reply

